No, You Don’t Need To “Lose Weight” To “Be Healthy.”

HI y’all! WOW it sure has been a while since I have been on here! A lot has been going on lately, and I’m finally having time to sit and write. School, moving, finals, packing, family time, more moving, car issues, more moving, new jobs, etc. has been on the agenda as of late. However, I am happy to say that we are finally settled for the summer!

And yes, my Intuitive Eating journey continues.

Finding peace with food has been something that I can honestly say has changed my life. Interesting, huh? Who knew.

Intuitive Eating helped me realize a problem that I didn’t even know that I had before. It was a puzzle peice I needed in my life, that I didn’t even know what missing.

There is so much I can write on Intutive Eating, but I constantly am reminding myself, as I blog to keep things S I M P L E. Because that’s really what Intuitive Eating is all about. The more I get into it, the more I realize how simple it is.

Take a step back. Go back to the basics. The basics of basic.

Lately I have taken a new approach on eating. My diet (as in what I’m eating daily) has consisted of REAL food. Organic when possible. I don’t eat out. And I can not remember the last time I had sugar. (jk- Halo top ice cream FTW on Friday) Strawberries, blueberries, zucchini, sweet-potatos, mangoes, greek yogurt, eggs, avocado, honey… etc. Point is- I really haven’t had much of an “urgency” or “craving” when it comes to anything processed.

Think- fresh produce section of Walmart. My life yo.

However- the question popped into my head the other day. How did I get to the point of me craving  veggies?  How did I get to the point of wanting to eat real food? How is it that I don’t like the candy bars and sweets that I used too anymore? This isn’t part of Intuitive Eating last time I checked?

Then it dawned on me. I am simply doing it because I want to.

Through Intuitive Eating, I have been able to go back to basics. It has been a long journey! Almost 10 months now, and I have finally reached Step 10- Honor Health. Literally, when I realized this I said, “WOAH!” out loud. Because I’m amazed. My journey, really and truly worked. I made it to the last step! It really works.

However lets take it back to Step 1. I have accomplished step 1: “Rejecting the Dieting Mentality.” This includes, cutting off any outside voices from the media, friends, and family. I have ignored the phrases such as, “you should be doing this because…….” or “this is the best way to eat because……” or “this is what works because……”

One of my favorite quotes,

“It is not ethical to help someone into dieting. No matter the cause.” Evelyn Tribole.

I believe this whole heartedly now. Dieting messes with your mind. It’s as simple as that. It just does.

Through years and years of “trying” to be healthy, I realized that being healthy isn’t a “future event.”

You see, I don’t need to lose the 5 Ibs. I gained this weekend in Mexican food to be healthy. And you dont need to lose your “pregnancy baby weight” —-> to be healthy. You also dont need to lose 50 Ibs. to be healthy. AND you certainly dont need to go on a diet to be healthy. No, you don’t need to lose weight to be healthy. Being healthy is right now.

I believe, our mindset has become so distorted in this way because of the Media. The Dieting Industry wants us to believe that NONE of us are ever there. None of us “are” (present tense) healthy. The Media would like us to believe that NONE of us are good enough right now. Our teeth need to be whiter, our skin isn’t glowy enough, cellulite is bad and you definitely have too much, you’re a normal human aging, but nope you have too many wrinkles, we have too much fat in a certain areas better ‘zap’ that away, our thighs are too big.. etc.

The thing is, I can be healthy today, in this moment, right now.

I can be healthy tomorrow.  I don’t need to wait until “Monday” to be healthy. And I certainly dont need to lose weight to be healthy. You see, when we decide to be healthy now, all of that will come naturally. When you make the decision, everyday “to be healthy today” because you want health today… You find that your health actually improves with the mindset of “now.”

(Sorry if I’m totally confusing you.)

For example, what if someone told you – “all you need to do, is add a salad to you dinner tonight, and BAM you will lose 30 Ibs.” I’m pretty sure everyone would be doing this! Why? Because it’s a short-term mindset. It’s making you think, “you’ll have health tomorrow.” It’s doable. It’s realistic….

The truth is, if you add a salad to you dinner tonight, you probably wont loose 30 Ibs. (I’m sorry) However you just made a change to become a more healthier you. You are being healthy now.

Make sense?

I hope so!

I TESTIFY Y’ALL- Going on a diet wont help you reach your health goal. Maybe it will. But remember for almost 97% of people it doesn’t. Reason being, health is so much more than just food, restrictions, weight, and numbers.

Health is all encompassing. Spiritual. Mental. Physical. 

I believe my loss of appetite for processed foods, and my cravings for vegetables and REAL whole foods, comes from a craving to be healthy right now for me. Not for a big event coming up, and not to look like “her”, and not to one day “be healthy”, but for me right now. 

Remember: although I have gone through the steps and made it to number 10 on Intuitive Eating. DOES NOT mean I am finally healthy. It’s an easy, and daily choice I make everyday. 

Love you guys so much! Thanks for all the feedback! Hope you all have an amazing second week of June 2017! Happy Summer y’all!

Leave a comment