“What’s wrong with my body?”

 

Mindset.

This is one of the most important tools when it comes to accomplishing our goals and taking care of ourself.

“Mindset. It’s the driver of our choices and is responsible for our progress and lack of progress. Every decision we make is coming from our state of mind in that moment, whether it be a positive or negative state of mind. ” -Elizabeth Benton

(true) Story: A women lost 50 Ibs! However, she was still not feeling comfortable to go to the beach and wear a swimming suit. She said, “I want to be able to walk on the beach with confidence and feel positive.”

My purpose in this blog is to explain how this has nothing to do with weight loss and everything to do with the WAY you’re viewing your body. Your mindset.

Some things are bianary. They’re either black or white. One of the things that are bianary is the way we think about our bodies. You either come from a place of..

1) Seeing what is wrong with your body

2) Seeing what is RIGHT with your body.

When someone says, “I can’t wear a swimming suit because of my thighs.” or “I can’t dress cute because I’m gaining to much weight.” Your mind is coming from a place of “what is wrong with my body.” 

TRUTH: You could lose as much weight as you want, but still be unhappy with the way you look.

Why?

Because your mindset is still a mindset of “what is wrong with my body.” Your mindset is negative. Your mindset is still in a comparing state of mind.

This isn’t a “body love” or “love and accept yourself” message. Improvement is always good. We should always be striving for improvement of course- BUT with the right motive.

Get rid of the stubborn perspective of, “I just need to lose 10 pounds. Then I’ll be happy.”

Reason being, is that isn’t really what you need. If you REALLY NEEDED to lose 10 Ib, if it was a matter of life or death. You could and would do it in heart beat. Anyone could.

So why are so many of us still, “trying to lose weight?”

1)We don’t really know what we want, and why.

2)We aren’t bringing our attention enough to it.

What did I want?

I wanted to stop worrying about, “needing to be fit. ” However, I thought the only way to improve my physical appearance, was to 1) workout 2) eat healthy.

Wrong.

My favorite quote from General Conference Spring 2017 was, “Spritual, mental, and physcial health have much in common.” This STRUCK me. I now live by this daily.

I imagine a triangle. Picture in your a head a triangle. One corner is spiritual, one corner mental, and another corner physical. In order to keep this triangle a perfect triangle, we must balance all 3 corners. If my focus is only on my physcial health, my triangle is going to look obtuse. Our goal in life is to get our triangle equilateral.

That was my answer.  I needed to stop putting so much focus and emphasis on my fitness, and physical health. As I did this, I found that naturally my body was getting fit.

Focus more on your over all life and wellbeing, and less on your weight and your appearance.

 

There are women who are a size 0 and a size 2 who are just as self concious of their bodies as women who are a size 12 or size 18. Having confidence in our bodies, is a state of mind, not a state of body.

It’s summer time. Pool parties, shorts, short sleeves, tank tops, swimming suits etc.. are on the rise! Ha ha. Don’t let your, “what’s wrong with my body” state of mind stop you from focusing on life. Literally start telling yourself out loud all the things that your body CAN do. Bring energy and positivity into your life. Train your brain.

“You can see, walk, smell, eat, breathe, hear…”

When you get your mind right, it will naturally improve your choices.

When the choice comes, “Should I eat this or should I not?” “Should I work out today, or should I not?” You will grab the apple happily over the donut when your mind is right. You might not like sugar anymore (see previous blog.) You will crave exercise, and get excited about the gym. All this happens when your mind is right. 

What do you really want and why?

If it’s to lose weight, you’ll never get what your really want. Because with this state of mind,  you will forever be trying to lose weight. If you want confidence, and to be happier and feel healthier. Try honing in on your spiritual, and mental health a little bit more. When you focus on this, you’ll find improvement with another corner of the triangle.

Stop the voices of, “What’s wrong with my body. I look fat. I look ugly. I need to change to feel happy. I’ll be happy when I lose weight.”

Focus on, “What’s right with my body. Look what I can do. I want to lift weights because that’s so awesome that I can. Wow I have muscles now. I am beautiful. Keep going. I feel great. Look at my blessings. I am so grateful.” Improvement comes in this state of mind. I promise.

It’s all about that state of mind. The size of your body isn’t inhibiting what you want, it’s your mindset.

Ask yourself, “How can I make myself feel good today?” Train you mind to focus on today, on the next 30 minutes, on the NOW.

Whether it be in meditation, prayer, or journaling. Find a place to focus on how you want to feel today. (Spiritual health)

Focus on what you want, fix your mindset, and your choices will follow your needs.

Focus on life, less on food and weight.

4 thoughts on ““What’s wrong with my body?”

  1. Cassie Boudousquie

    Dudeee, I love you so much!!! I’ve read this like five times now and I SO need to work on this. You’re so right and I’m gonna lractice! Thank you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment